October 2, 2018

Recognizing a lifetime commitment of dedicated leaders of alpine skiing

Canmore (AB) – The Canadian Rockies Ski Racing Hall of Fame announced the Class of 2018 – four dedicated leaders who have made a life-long contribution to alpine ski racing and through their leadership have supported the development of athletes and lifted the running of ski races.

“Recognizing the contribution of those dedicated officials, volunteers and builders who have built our sport is very important,” said Alberta Alpine President Rob McCloskey. “These remarkable individuals have made a difference – profoundly lifting our sport. Their leadership has given many current and future ski racing champions the support they need to succeed. Our events are safer, how we run them better. We are thrilled that this event can ensure the impact of our Honoured Inductees on our sport can be acknowledged and celebrated.”

The Canadian Rockies Ski Racing Hall of Fame Class of 2018 are:

  • Mark Bowman – Honoured Official
  • Rob Imbrogno – Honoured Volunteer
  • Louise Knight-Kertez – Honoured Alberta Team Athlete Alumnus
  • Doug Savage – Honoured Builder

Mark Bowman is an alumni of the Alberta Ski Team, parent of a ski racer and has become an international leader in an essential requirement of ski racing: timing. Mark is “the man” when it comes to understanding the intricacies of timing, computers and building a reliable system on the side of a mountain.

Rob Imbrogno has World Cup in his blood. As a lifelong volunteer, his passion has been to lead and inspire a dedicated crew of volunteers that stage the annual Winterstart World Cup races at Lake Louise, building a reputation as a “World Cup Classic” alongside the greatest ski resorts in the world.

Louise Knight-Kertez, from athlete, to coach, to ski racing parent, Louise has made an outstanding contribution to ski racing. An alumni of both the Alberta and Canadian Alpine Ski Teams, Louise was part of a remarkable group of athletes that grew up on the slopes of Marmot Basin, to join the highest levels of international ski racing. While raising her young family with husband Mike, Louise has devoted her life to giving lifting athlete development and inspiring the programs of the Jasper Ski Club to give younger athletes those same possibilities that she experienced.

Doug Savage has become synonymous with safety in ski racing and ensuring our safety systems are current and will do the important task of protecting our athletes. For decades, he has worked relentlessly to ensure the competitive environments for young ski racers right across Canada – and indeed to the world through the Lake Louise World Cup – is world-class. Through thousands of hours and seemingly endless hours on the mountain, Doug has “been there” for race organizers from U14 right to the Olympic Winter Games – twice.

In addition to the four Honoured Inductees, the Hall of Fame is pleased to announce the 2018 Awards of Recognition. Alberta Alpine has a primary goal to graduate high-performance athletes to the Canadian National Ski Teams in Para-Alpine, Ski Cross and Alpine or to NCAA universities or colleges. The Recognition Awards acknowledge the top Alberta athletes of the past season in these areas of achievement.

  • International Ski Cross male Athlete: Brady Leman (CARC)
  • International Para-alpine female Athlete: Alana Ramsay (CADS Alberta)
  • International Para-alpine male Athlete: Kirk Schornstein (Edmonton)
  • International Para-alpine Guide: Jack Leitch (CARC)
  • International Alpine Male Athlete: Erik Read (Banff Alpine Racers)
  • International & NCAA Female Athlete: Amelia Smart (University of Denver/Team Panorama)
  • NCAA Male Athlete: Rob Greig (University of New Mexico/Team Panorama)

The 2018 Class will be inducted at The Highest Peak Gala, hosted at the Hotel Arts in Calgary on Tuesday, October 30th. This event was first held in 1968, to support ski racing excellence in Alberta and western Canada. The Canadian Rockies Ski Racing Hall of Fame event is a legacy event with the goal to support future champions in the province, with all proceeds invested into Alberta Ski Racing programs.

–  30  –

For more information:

Rob McCloskey, Alberta Alpine

Tel:      (403) 801 0526

Email:  rob@albertaalpine.ca

Categorised in:


2019 Quest for Gold Golf Tournament

Monday, May 27th at Silvertip Resort in Canmore