October 11, 2016


Canmore (AB) – The Canadian Rockies Ski Racing Hall of Fame announced the Class of 2016 – four dedicated leaders who have made a life-long contribution with nation-wide impact to the sport of ski racing through their hard work and support of our programs, athletes and events.

“Recognizing the contribution of those dedicated officials, volunteers and builders who have built our sport is very important,” said Alberta Alpine President Nigel Loring. “These remarkable individuals have made a difference – profoundly lifting our sport. Their leadership has given many current and future ski racing champions the support then need to succeed. We are thrilled that this event can ensure the impact of our Honoured Inductees on our sport can be acknowledged and celebrated.”

The Honoured Class of 2016 are:

  • Dick Beare – Honoured Lifetime Official
  • Fred Bosinger – Visionary Builder
  • Vanita Haining – Honoured Canadian & Alberta Team Athlete Alumnus
  • Jim Miles – Honoured Lifelong Volunteer

The 2016 Class will be inducted at the 48th annual Hall of Fame Celebration, hosted by Alberta Alpine at the Calgary Petroleum Club on Tuesday, November 8th. The Hall of Fame event was established in 1968 to support ski racing excellence in Alberta and western Canada. As part of the legacy to support future champions in the province, the event will have a number of fundraising options including silent auction with all proceeds invested into Alberta Ski Racing programs.

Dick Beare is well known in Race Offices across Canada. His timing and results software have served the sport for many years. He has also been a long serving official and Technical Delegate in both alpine and speed skiing. Dick has worked diligently to ensure his race office magic and tireless technical support provide accurate results and the timing for ski clubs across Canada.

Fred Bosinger emigrated from Switzerland, first joining the resort management team at Red Mountain and then moving to Sunshine Village. His roles have included leadership in securing World Cup races in Sunshine, supporting young athletes across western Canada through the Canada West Ski Area Operators Ski Racer Pass program and a familiar face as Start Referee for World Cup races for many years. Fred, his wife Margret and the entire Bosinger family continue to support ski racing through the annual Bozo and Kinder Cups in memory of their son and Canadian Ski Team alumni Rob Bosinger.

Vanita Haining graduated from the Calgary Skimeisters to the Alberta Ski Team and reached the Canadian Alpine Ski Team 1974-78 becoming one of Canada’s most accomplished slalom skiers with two Canadian championship titles, racing in World Cup, Europa Cup and Can-Am competition. Following her retirement from active competition, Vanita continued her support for ski racing first as a coach and then moving into the officials stream becoming a respected race official and Provincial Technical Delegate. While raising her two ski racing children (NCAA all-American Sean Alexander and Suzanne Alexander), she was a familiar face on the slopes as a parent-volunteer.

Jim Miles started his ski racing journey like many, as a parent-volunteer with the ski club. His calm manner and leadership skills provided invaluable support for the Boards of Alberta Alpine and Alpine Canada, serving as both Director and Chair of both organizations during the years of great success from World Cup winner Cary Mullen, Olympic medalists Edi Podivinsky and Kerrin Lee-Gartner and World Champion Kate Pace-Lindsay.

In addition to the four Honoured Inductees, new this year the Hall of Fame has introduced annual Awards of Recognition. Alberta Alpine has a primary goal to graduate high performance athletes to the Canadian Alpine Ski Team or to NCAA universities or colleges. These new Recognition Awards acknowledge the top athletes of the past season in these areas of achievement.

For 2016 the athletes are:

  • International Male Athlete: Trevor Philp (Banff Alpine Racers)
  • International Female Athlete: Amelia Smart (Team Panorama)
  • NCAA Male Athlete: Erik Read (University of Denver / Banff Alpine Racers)
  • NCAA Female Athlete: Jocelyn McCarthy (Montana State University / Rabbit Hill Ski Club)

Alberta Alpine also has a long-standing tradition to recognize recently retired Alberta and Canadian Ski Team athletes with a “Belt Buckle” award, which will be included in this years Hall of Fame event.

The Class of 2016 will be inducted Tuesday, November 8th between 4:30 to 8:00 pm at the Calgary Petroleum Club. This is a free event for all supporters of alpine ski racers.

Categorised in: ,


2019 Quest for Gold Golf Tournament

Monday, May 27th at Silvertip Resort in Canmore